:: Preamble ::
           Mahesh Bhattacharyya Homeopathic Medical College and Hospital was initially established by late Dr. Bhola Nath Chakrabarty on March 27, 1967 in the campus of Sankar Math near Ramrajatala, Howrah, named as Shankarmath Homeopathic Medical College and Hospital. It was run by the trustees of the Math, allopathic practitioners, a band of young and energetic homeopathic practitioners and 12 students. It rendered medical services to the weaker section of the society through a charitable OPD in the first instance and started to run the Diploma course in Homeopathy (DMS).

               Unfortunately, in 1971, on account of the serious chaotic social and political turmoil in Howrah, the college was shifted temporarily to the small accommodation of the chamber of Dr. B. N. Chakrabarty at 62/1, Netaji Subhas Road, Howrah

              On April 14, 1972, the college started functioning in its own building with 400 students, 6 big rooms, an OPD and 30 beds on a one bigha land at 1, G. T. Road (S), Howrah – 1 with the help of the donation by Mahesh Bhattacharyya & Co., Homeopathic Chemist & Druggist and substantial contributions by generous members. The hospital was renovated with about an amount of Rs. 2,20,000/- and renamed as “Mahesh Bhattacharyya Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital”. Mother Teresa was gracious enough to donate 25 beds with mattress through Mother Amie. Adequate funds were also provided by the Govt. of India in the 4th five year plan and by the Calcutta Metropolitan Development Authority. From 1976-77, the Diploma course in Homeopathy (DMS) was suspended as the college was upgraded to run Degree course in homeopathy (BMS) and the college was authorized by the University of Calcutta. 36 students passed the 1st BMS Examination of the University of Calcutta in May, 1979. The BMS course was renamed as Bachelor of Homeopathic Medicine & Surgery (BHMS). Since September, 1979 the state Government took the responsibility for giving full financial assistance for payment of salary of the staff and development of teaching faculties. The state Government sanctioned a grant of Rs. 2 lakhs in 1980-81 for purchase of books and equipments. Finally on June 2, 1986, the whole management was taken over by the Government of West Bengal.

              The college and hospital campus was finally shifted to the 13 bigha land at the Doomurjala campus, Drainage Canal Road, Howrah – 4 on June 21, 1993. The construction of the hospital was undertaken by the Public Works Department of the Government of West Bengal and about Rs. 70 lakhs was sanctioned for the purpose. On 31st March, 1994, the State Government took full charge of the institution. Indoor department was opened on January 19, 2000 and the former college building at 1, G. T. Road (S), Howrah – 1 was utilized as the Boys’ Hostel on and from December 1, 2000.

             Stipendiary House-staff was started from December 6, 2005. The academic calendar of BHMS course was published by the University of Calcutta. MD (Hom) in Repertory was started from May, 2007. The Ladies’ Hostel was inaugurated on July 1, 2010. From the year 2009-10, both the BHMS and MD (Hom) courses were taken up and run till date by the West Bengal University of Health Sciences (WBUHS). Ever since the establishment, the hospital is gaining immense popularity by serving increasing number of beneficiaries each and every year.

            Late Dr. Netai Charan Chakrabarty was the first Principal, Secretary and Superintendent of the College and Hospital since its inception in 1967 till his sad demise on September 9, 1978. The charge was then taken up by

Late Dr. Pulin Behari Banerjee (Officiating Principal)
Late Dr. Prakash Chandra Adhya (Officiating Principal)
Dr. Chittaranjan Adhya (Officiating Principal)
Dr. Ramkrishna Ghosh Mondal (Principal)
Dr. Manibhushan Basu (Principal-in-charge)
Dr. Rohini Kumar Mondal (Principal)
Dr. Asim Kumar Das (Teacher-in-charge)
Dr. Sahadev Sasmal (Principal)
Dr. Amitava Biswas (Principal)
Dr Nikhil Saha ( Acting principal)
Dr Tarak Nath Ghosh ( Acting Principal)
Dr.(Prof) Madhabananda Saha (Principal)